top of page

CDL License Classifications: A Comprehensive Guide

CDL licenses are categorized into different classes - Class A, Class B, Class C, and Class D- each with its own set of requirements and vehicle operation allowances. Understanding these classifications is essential for aspiring commercial drivers. Here's a comprehensive guide to help you grasp the distinctions:

  1. CDL Class A: A Class A commercial driver's license permits holders to operate a combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or more. This includes vehicles with a towed unit exceeding 10,000 pounds. Common examples of vehicles operated with a Class A CDL include tractor-trailers, semi-trucks, and tanker trucks.

  2. CDL Class B: A Class B commercial driver's license allows drivers to operate single vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more. The vehicle being operated may tow a trailer with a GVWR of less than 10,000 pounds. Delivery trucks, dump trucks, and buses are typical examples of vehicles driven with a Class B CDL.

  3. CDL Class C: Holders of a Class C commercial driver's license are authorized to operate vehicles designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver) or vehicles carrying hazardous materials requiring placards. Small buses, airport shuttles, and vehicles used for transporting hazardous materials fall under the purview of a Class C CDL.

  4. CDL Class D: The term "CDL Class D" may refer to certain state-specific licensing systems that classify non-commercial vehicles based on their weight or passenger capacity. This classification typically includes vehicles such as passenger cars, light trucks, and vans.

It's important to note that the classification system may have slight variations across different states. To ensure accuracy, always consult your local DMV or licensing authority for specific requirements and classifications in your jurisdiction.

We hope this comprehensive overview clarifies the differences between CDL Class A, Class B, Class C, and Class D licenses. However, please bear in mind that regulations may vary, and it's crucial to verify the information with the relevant licensing authorities in your area. Safe travels and good luck with your commercial driving aspirations!


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page